Proverb LP XX01

Various: The Best From The West (c. 1966-67)


Previous Image
Next Image

info heading

info content

A1Sanctified SixGod Rode In A Wind Storm1961Proverb 1001
A2Pilgrim TravelersJust A Closer Walk With Thee196?
A3Phoenix All StarsI Love To Call His Name1962-63Proverb 1005
A4Los Angeles Soul ReviversOperator1964-65Proverb 1013
A5Singing CorinthiansPrayer Changes Things1964-65Proverb 1011
A6Vocal-Aires of Birmingham, Ala.Climbing Jacobs Ladder1964-65Proverb 1015
B1Ohio WondersIn My Savior’s Care1966-67Proverb 1027
B2Southern GalesLeaning On Jesus196?
B3Mighty Sons of JoyHold Me In Your Arms1963-64Proverb 1008
B4Los Angeles All StarsLiving A Saved Life Now1965Proverb 1016
B5 ♫Mighty Clouds of JoyA Sinners Confession1959?
B6Ohio WondersLord You’re So Good To Me1964-65Proverb 1016



  • This album was released as ‘Volume 1’ but no second volume is known to exist.
  • A1 as by Sister Sarah James and Sanctified Six, A2 as by the World Famous Pilgrim Travelers.
  • “Just A Closer Walk With Thee” (Pilgrim Travelers) seems to have been released on this LP only. The song also appeared on Kent LP 564, but that’s a different (and later) recording.
  • “I Love To Call His Name” (Phoenix All Stars) as “Lord I Love To Call Your Name” on the 45rpm release.
  • “Climbing Jacobs Ladder” (Vocal-Aires of Birmingham, Ala.) as “Jacobs Ladder” on the 45rpm release.
  • Ohio Wonders as “Big Bad Bashful” John McNeil and Ohio Wonders on Proverb 1027. The 45 lists “In My Savior’s Care” as “My Savior’s Care”.
  • “Lord You’re So Good To Me” as “Lord, Been So Good” on the front cover.
  • “Living A Saved Life Now” (Los Angeles All Stars) as “I’m Living A Saved Life Now” on the 45rpm release.
  • The Southern Gales’ track is their only known performance; it was not released on a Proverb 45.
  • The first recordings of the Mighty Clouds of Joy were made for the Proverb label. Original material is hard to find, but Brother Henderson seems to have made a deal with HOB Records and this label re-released the Proverb recordings on LP 288 (with overdubs by John Bowden) in 1968. “A Sinners Confession” can also be found on the HOB LP (it appears to be the same version); it can be listened to below.
  • This album is available on CD-r and as a download.